How I met Skeeter Davis

I was introduced to Skeeter Davis’s songs late 90’s when I was in Bombay.

This girl who I barely knew had gone shopping and when back left a plastic cover on my desk.She must have left it there by mistake so I put in in the drawer to be given back the next day.

Next day no sign of girl. The following day too.

Then I peeped in cover to find this audio cassette (yes, they were the cassette days). I took that home and heard Skeeter Davis for the first time. My.. I became an instant fan and heard the cassette again and again for the next few days.

Then the girl returns and asks about the cover. In two minds but I say its safe and return the cassette the next day.

The following day the girl comes fuming and complains that the tape is all worn out.

Guilty..

Well, she complained and complained till I promised to buy her another Skeeter Davis cassette ……. and a beer.

Since then shes grown on me, I mean Skeeter Davis, and now I hear them for the music at times and for the lyrics other times.

I can hear them when I am happy/sad whenever. She has that to put me back on track.

Here are some of my fav, hope u like them too. Just click of any of the links below….

AM I THAT EASY TO FORGET by SKEETER DAVIS
Skeeter Davis – Bus Fare To Kentucky

Skeeter Davis – Gonna Get Along Without You Now

Skeeter Davis – I’m a Lover (Not a Fighter)

Skeeter Davis – I’m Saving My Love

Oh,Boy ! ::::: Skeeter Davis.

Skeeter Davis – Set Him Free (c.1953).

Skeeter Davis SILVER THREADS AND GOLDEN NEEDLES.

Skeeter Davis – What Does It Take (To Keep A Man Like You Satisfied) (1967)

Leave a comment